Players | Managers | Clubs | Grounds | National Teams | Leagues & Cups
    The Beautiful Game
  My Quick Links:
    Blackburn Rovers
    Ewood park


Young Player of the Year - 07/10/2003

John Hartson has been named Wales Footballer of the Year for the second time in three years. The Celtic striker picked up the trophy at the Carling-sponsored Football Association of Wales awards event in Cardiff tonight. Hartson - who has now won the award on three occasions in all - has made a tremendous contribution to the Welsh success in reaching the Euro 2004 play offs, scoring three vital goals in seven qualifying games, and eight in his last 20 internationals. He will pick up his 38th cap on Saturday when Wales complete their Group Nine qualifiers against Serbia and Montenegro at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

The Young Player of the Year Award went to Gillingham goalkeeper Jason Brown, who will win his seventh cap at Under-21 level against Serbia and Montenegro at Barry on Friday before he becomes too old for the squad.

Cardiff's Robert Earnshaw was named Clubman of the Year. The Football Association of Wales made a merit award to former Wrexham manager Alvan Williams and also to ex-Spurs defender Mel Hopkins, who played in the 1958 World Cup finals side as well as the Tottenham double winning team of the early 1960s.

What is your opinion about this article?
Start a new topic at our forum!

Print article